2014 Pro Football Hall of Fame Class

The NFL just recently announced the 2014 Pro Football Hall of Fame Class and lots of significant names were included. Of course, some big names were left out, as they didn’t make it, with Will Shields, Tim Brown, Charles Haley and Edward DeArtolo being some of the most significant ones. On the other hand, lots of former players who were expected to be included finally made it to the class. Let’s break down the list.

Derrick Brooks is a linebacker who was a member of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, the only NFL team he played for, during the years 1995-2008. Back in 2002 he won the Defensive Player of the Year award and he was also included in the NFL’s All-Decade Team of 2000s. He also was a big part of the Bucs’ success to win the Super Bowl in 2002.

Michael Strahan is arguably the second best defensive end of the New York Giants for the team’s history, trailing Lawrence Taylor. He was a member of the Giants team which won the Super Bowl XLII and he was also named AP NFL Defensive Player of the Year back in 2001. His induction to the Hall of Fame class raised some arguments, as some people around the league believe he didn’t deserve to be included.

Walter Jones is considered to be one of the best left tackles to ever pass from the league. His big body frame and long arms put him in a position to really be surging when on the field. He is a nine-time Pro Bowler and was also a member of the 2000s All-Decade team. In 12 seasons through his career, he allowed just 23 sacks, which is an amazing achievement. The Seattle Seahawks honored him back in 2010, when they retired his number, 71.

Andy Reed had a very successful 16-year career in the NFL. He spent 15 out his years in the league with the Buffalo Bills and he was selected as a Pro Bowler every season from 1988 to 1994.

Aeneas Williams was a member of the Phoenix / Arizona Cardinals for 10 years. During his 14-year career in the NFL, Williams was very impactful. He is a nine-time Pro Bowler and his 55 interceptions rank him 12th of all time in the league. Aeneas Williams also ranks fourth for his career nine touchdowns on interception returns.

The first punter to be included in a Pro Football Hall of Fame class is Ray Guy, so he has already written history. As a member of the Oakland / Los Angeles Raiders, he won three Super Bowls and seven Pro Bowls.

Defensive end Claude Humphrey played for the Philadelphia Eagles and the Atlanta Falcons from 1968 until 1981. He was a six-time Pro Bowler and also won the NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year award. During his era, no official numbers were recorded, by was estimated to record 126.5 sacks through his career.

For more NFL news, rumors and updates, visit FantasyFootballOverdose.Com – a great source of everything about fantasy football rankings and projections.