Manila, Philippines – Liberal Party gained control of Senate leadership as Senator Franklin Drilon secured presidency over Senator Juan Ponce Enrile.

After announcement of the final result 17-6, Drilon will serve his Senatorial tilt for the third time.

During his speech, Drilon guaranteed change and improvement in the Senate system and craft laws that will impact the lives of Filipinos especially the poor. He also vowed to bring the Senate closer to the masses.

As the Senate President, he will preside all chamber sessions, sign document of behalf of the whole senate and diminish or increase the number of chamber personnel.

In addition, he is now the ex-office chairman of the Commission on Appointments which can approve or disapprove appointments made by the President.

Although Senator Miriam Defensor-Santiago was absent during the election, it didn’t stop members to opt new Senate President.

Senators who ran under PNoy coalition voted for Drilon. These include Juan Edgardo Angara, Bam Aquino, Loren Legarda, Francis Escudero, Alan Peter Cayetano, Cynthia Villar, Aquilino Pimentel III, Antonio Trillanes IV, and Grace Poe.

He also gripped votes from Senators Enrile, Pia Cayetano, Ralph Recto, Ferdinand Marcos Jr., Teofisto Guingona III and Sergio Osmena III. Senators Lito Lapid and Ramon Bong Revilla Jr. from LAKAS-CMD Party likewise voted for Drilon.

However, Senators Gregorio Honasan, Jinggoy Estrada and Vicente Sotto III who are members of the Senate “macho bloc” voted for Enrile. He also clutched votes from Senators Drilon, Binay and JV Ejercito.

Moreover, Senator Ralph Recto was elected Senate President Pro Tempore while Sen. Alan Peter Cayetano is the new Senate Majority Leader.

Quezon City Rep. Feliciano “Sonny” Belmonte retained his position as House Speaker.


Written by:

Ram Idelbert A. Hilario
ABCom Intern
Leyte Normal University