TACLOBAN CITY, Philippines-The Department of Social Welfare and Development in Region 8 on Friday awarded five “Eastern visayas Women of Distinction” in a ceremony at Leyte Park Convention Center, Tacloban.

The awardees are Assistant regional director Emma Sanopo of National Economic Development Authority; Director Evangeline Paran of National Statistical Coordination Board; Director Imelda Laceras of Department of Budget and Management;  Director Cynthia Nierras of Department of Trade and Industry; and Director Olive Tiu of Philippine Information Agency.

In an interview with Manila Channel, Dir. Tiu said she felt “humbled by the honor given by DSWD.”

“My lifetime advocacy has always been that on women and children but I did not expect that my works will be recognized. For me, it is my responsibility as a woman to advocate the interest of my fellow women as in Women Working for the Upliftment of Women,” Dir. Tiu said.