Sanchez’ At Sa Tahanan ng Alabok
The UP Institute of Creative Writing and the Madrigal-Gonzalez family are pleased to announce this years finalists for the Madrigal-Gonzalez Best First Book Award.

Finalists include At Sa Tahanan ng Alabok by Louie Jon Sanchez, Corpus by Carlos M. Piocos, Dalawang Pulgada at Tubig by Emmanuel O. Velasco, Bugtong ng Buwan by Will P. Ortiz, Miss Dulce Extranjera by Sir Anril Pineda Tiatco, and Lagalag ng Paglaya by Rommel Rodriguez.

The U.P. Institute of Creative Writing established the Madrigal-Gonzalez Best First Book Award in February 2001 with the aim to encourage writers who have published a first work in English or Filipino to continue in the pursuit of excellence in the literary art by providing a degree of relief from financial pressures in order that he or she might focus on the next literary project.

Through the facilitation of the UP ICW, the award is generously sponsored by Atty. Gizela Gonzalez-Montinola and the Madrigal-Gonzalez family. Each year the UP ICW selects works from the list of first-time authors and grants a cash prize of P50,000 and a plaque.

Award-winning poets Vim Nadera, Roberto Anoñuevo, and Michael Coroza were this year’s panel of judges.

Piocos’ Corpus

The awarding will be on December 7 at the GT-Toyota Hall of Wisdom, UP Asian Center at 5pm.

Former winners of the Madrigal-Gonzales Award include Angelo Lacuesta, Luna Sicat Cleto, Ellen Sicat, Kristian Cordero, Vincent Garcia Groyon, Rica Bolipata Santos and Lawrence Ypil, to name a few. The following is the complete list of the awardees in the past decade.

 Angelo R. Lacuesta – “Life after X” , story collection
(Judges: Marjorie Evasco and Jessica Zafra)

 Ellen L. Sicat – “Paghuhunos,” novel
(Judges: Benilda S. Santos, Rene O. Villanueva, and Hermio S. Beltran, Jr.)

 Ma. Felisa H. Batacan – “Smaller and Smaller Circles,” novel
(Judges: Marjorie Evasco and Ruel De Vera)

 Luna Sicat-Cleto – “Makinilyang Altar,” novel
(Judges: Rogelio G. Mangahas, Rebecca T. Añonuevo, and Fidel D. Rillo, Jr.)

 Vicente Garcia Groyon – “The Sky Over Dimas,” novel
(Judges: Jose Neil C. Garcia, Jessica Zafra and Jaime An Lim)

 Christian Cordero, Mga Tulang Tulala: Mga Piling Tula sa Filipino, Bikol at Rinconada (poetry)
(Judges: Rene Villanueva, Malou Jacob and Luna Sicat Cleto)

 Rica Bolipata-Santos, Love, Desire, Children, Etc.: Reflections of a Young Wife (essays)
(Judges: Jose Neil Garcia, Jaime An Lim and Vince Groyon)

 Zosimo Quibilan, Pagluwas
(Judges: Jun Cruz Reyes, Kristian Cordero and Mayette Bayuga)

 Adam David, El Bimbo Variations
(Judges: J. Neil Garcia, David Bayot, Angelo Suarez)

 Lualhati Abreu, Agaw-Dilim, Agaw-Liwanag
(Judges: Rolando Tolentino, Genevieve Asenjo, and Luna Sicat Cleto)

 Lawrence Ypil, The Highest Hiding Place
(Judges: Charlson Ong, D.M. Reyes, J. Neil Garcia)