50 members of the Philippine National Police-Special Action Force were confirmed dead following an 11-hour firefight with rebels in Mamasapano, Maguindanao on Sunday, Senior Superintendent Noel Armilla, PNP director for the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM), confirmed Monday morning.

The ARMM police also confirmed that six of the 50 casualties are officials.

They have already released 41 names of PNP-SAF members killed in the clash. They, however, expect that the number of casualties will rise as they continue to monitor the area.

Authorities said that recovered bodies of the police fatalities were brought to the military headquarters in Camp Siongco in Maguindanao for forensic examination and proper identification.

“We continue to do the most important thing, to get the bodies and bring them to the families. All benefits and state honors will be given to the families of our policemen,” PNP officer-in-charge Deputy Director General Leonardo Espina said.

The members of the PNP-SAF were brutally killed by suspected members of the Bangsamoro Islamic Freedom Fighters (BIFF) and Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF) when they tried to serve an arrest warrant on Malaysian bomb maker Zulkifli Bin Hir, also known as “Marwan” and Abdul Basit Usman, who is included in the United States-list of most wanted terrorists.

Both are considered “high value targets” with Marwan having 5 million US dollars on his head while Usman with one million dollar reward.

It has been reported that 392 PNP-SAF troopers participated in the police operation, which started at 10 p.m. on Saturday.

The names of 41 PNP-SAF members killed in action in Mamasapano, Maguindanao:

  1. PSI Gednat Tabde
  2. PSI RYan Pabalinas
  3. PSI Garamnbas Tria
  4. PI Rennie Tyrus (missing)
  5. SPO1 Lover Inocencio
  6. PO3 Rodrigo Acob Jr.
  7. PO3 Virgil Villanueva
  8. PO2 Roger Cordero
  9. PO2 Peterson Carap
  10. PO2 Nicky Nacino Jr.
  11. PO1 Angel Kodiamat
  12. PO2 Glenn Bedua
  13. PO3 Noel Golocan
  14. PO2 Jerry Kayob
  15. PO2 Noel Balaca
  16. PO1 Romeo Cempron
  17. PO2 Joel Dulnuan
  18. PO2 Christopher Lalan
  19. PO2 Walner F. Danao
  20. PO2 Franklin C. Danao
  21. PO2 Omar A. Nacionales
  22. PO2 Godofredo B. Cabanlit Candano
  23. PO1 Russel B. Bilog
  24. PO1 Loreto Capinding
  25. PO3 Junrel Kibete
  26. PO1 Gringo Cayang-o
  27. PO2 Rodel Ramacula
  28. PO1 Joseph Sagonoy
  29. PO3 John lloyd R. Sumbilla
  30. PO2 Chum Agabon
  31. PO3 RObert Allaga
  32. PO1 Mark Lory Clemencio
  33. PO1 Oliebeth I. Viernes
  34. PO2 Richelle S. Baluga
  35. PO3 Andres V. Duque
  36. PO3 Jedz-in A. Asjali
  37. PO2 Amman M. Esmula
  38. PO3 Victoriano N. Acain
  39. PI Joey S. Gamutan
  40. PI John Garry A. Erana
  41. PSI Cyrus P. Anniban



Facebook Comments