Parade of Lights Tacloban
Tacloban Parade of Lights. Photo courtesy of LGU Tacloban

TACLOBAN CITY, Philippines- Due to the bad weather condition in Tacloban, the schedule for “SANGYAW Parade of Lights”  was moved to Sunday, June 30, city officials said.

During the emergency City Disaster Risk Reduction Management Council (CDRRMC) meeting early morning of Saturday, Mayor Alfred S. Romualdez has discussed the rescheduling of the parade to prioritize the safety of the participants considering that they will be using electrical lights for their props.

The council opted to move the “SANGYAW Parade of Lights” on June 30.

The CDRRMC mainly talked about the rescue operation  on flooded areas of the City.

Tacloban City will be showcasing their SANGYAW Parade of Light just right after the Fluvial-Land Procession in honor of its patron Sr. Sto. Nino de Tacloban.

Sr. Sto. Nino de Tacloban with Inagta will be leading the event, followed by decorated flamboyant brightly lighted 3D LED floats and colorful costume performers to parade through the main thorough fares of the city but this time the route of the parade will start at Magsaysay Blvd., turn right to Justice Romualdez, Rizal Avenue, Imelda Veteranos, Real St. then back to the Balyuan Ampitheater for the showdown performances of participating contingents.

In an interview with City Tourism Council Committee Chair Councilor Cristina G. Romualdez revealed that fifteen (15) of them will be competing for the float competition, for its lighting effects, performance, choreography and musicality.

Aside from that Councilor Cristina added that the GMA Artista float will have GMA actors Rafael Rosel, JC Tiuseco and Dion Ignacio with actress Bianca King to add more spices to the parade.

City hall float will likewise have its Chief Executive Mayor Alfred S. Romualdez, First Lady Councilor Cristina G. Romualdez, city officials, department heads and officers of the SANGYAW Foundation.

The newly crowned SANGYAW Ms. Tacloban 2013 Ronnette Bathan will have another float together with her court 1st runner up Bianca Alana Kantuna; 2nd runner up Michelle Cubilla; 3rd runner up Regielle Erika Marin and 4th runner up Debbie Jamaica Daria.

Contingents to join the SANGYAW Parade of Lightrs are: Brgy 48-A Magallanes with their “Fairy Tropia”; “Ice Ferrous” of Tacloban Institute of Electronics; “KAURUSA” of Brgy. 42-Quarry; “FANTASY” of Brgy. 68-Anibong; “POWER RANGERS” of Brgy. 44-A Salazar-Veteranos; “CARRIBEAN MARDI GRASS” of Brgy. 31 Pampango; “ENCHANTED GARDEN” Brgy. 75 of Real-Coca Cola; “PAMARAYAW” of Brgy. 49 Paterno-Youngfield; “UNDER THE SEA” of Young Bloomers Youth Club; “KADULCEAN” of Brgy. 56 Pericohon; “ROBOTIC” of Asian Development Foundation College; “ERA 1980’s” Kabataan Dancers han Tacloban; “SARIMANOK” of Liceo Del Verbo Divino; “TACLOBAN LANDMARKS” of Brgy 103 Palanog and “UNDER THE SEA” of I Love Tacloban Youth Organization.

They will be competing for the Best in Costume to receive 5k plus trophy; Best in Float and Street Dancing grand champ to get P80K and 50K, 30K, 20K & 10K respectively for the 1st runner up to 4th runner up winners plus trophy.

Meanwhile, Merry makers include   TJAT, Alpha Phi Omega, LBC, Colegio de ls Salle and Alpha Omega.

This will be followed by contingents from Congressman FM Romualdez, Ex Mayor Bejo Romualdez, sponsors and Limpyo Tacloban.

Also on Sunday is the City Official’s Oath taking ceremony at the Tacloban City Hall led by Mayor Alfred S. Romualdez, Vice Mayor Jerry Yaokasin, Councilor Cristina G. Romualdez and other newly elected City Officials officiated by Sen. Ferdinand “Bong-bong” Marcos, just right after the Sto. Nino Fiesta Pontifical Mass.