(28 March 2014, Macau) The 8th Asian Film Awards (AFA) was held at the City of Dreams in Macau. The stage was set at the grandiose Dancing Water Theatre, to welcome the cinematic elite from all over Asia. Asia’s top celebrities such as Zhang Ziyi, Donnie Yen and Carina Lau showed up for the event, impeccably dressed in designer outfits. The red carpet was overflowing with star power as celebrities gathered to celebrate the achievements of Asian cinema in the past year.

Eugene Domingo in a beautifully tailored suit, posing confidently on the 8th AFA red carpetEugene Domingo looked sharp on the red carpet wearing a beautifully tailored suit accented with metallic jewelry. Domingo was light-hearted as she presented for both the Best Editor and Best Cinematographer awards. Domingo presented herself as a true superstar, maintaining her grace in defeat. The Filipino actress joined the audience in a standing ovation when Zhang Ziyi from The Grandmaster,was named the Best Actress at the 8th AFA. She exemplified the spirit of the the awards ceremony – celebrating the achievements of Asian films.

Yeo Yann Yann giving her speech after winning the Best Supporting Actress title at the Asian Film AwardsYeoYannYann won the Best Supporting Actress title for her role in the film IloIlo. The film is based on the story of a Singaporean family’s relationship with a Filipino maid. The film stars Filipino actress AngeliBayani. In her award winning speech, Yeo was visibly moved by her win, choking on her speech. She reminded the audience that IloIlo is a film that gives us a message – that family is the source of biggest strength in times of difficulty and with that she concluded her speech by thanking her husband profusely.


Complete Awards List:

Lifetime Achievement:
Hou Hsiao-Hsien

Best Film:
The Grandmaster

Best Director:
Wong Kar-wai, The Grandmaster

Best Actor:
Irrfan Khan, The Lunchbox

Best Actress:
Zhang Ziyi, The Grandmaster

Best Newcomer:
Jiang Shuying, So Young

Best Supporting Actor:
Huang Bo, No Man’s Land

Best supporting actress:
Yeo YannYann, IloIlo

Best Screenwriter:
RiteshBatra, The Lunchbox

Best Cinematographer:
Philippe Le Sourd, The Grandmaster

Best Production Designer:
William Chang Suk Ping, Alfred YauWai Ming, The Grandmaster

Best Composer:
Nathaniel Mechaly, Umebayashi Shigeru, The Grandmaster

Best Editor:
Shin Min-kyung, Cold Eyes

Best Visual Effects:
Jung Sung-jin, Mr Go

Best Costume designer:
William Chang Suk Ping, The Grandmaster

About Asian Film Awards
The annual Asian Film Awards was established in 2007 as the first awards to recognize cinematic talents across Asia. The only awards ceremony in the World that brings together the region’s cinematic elites, the AFA has garnered well-deserved attention from both industry professionals and movie fans alike.

This year’s Asian Film Awards spanned 12 industry experts on the jury, 73 nominations, 26 films, and 14 award categories from 13 countries, and was jointly organised by the powerhouses of Asian cinema, comprising of the AFA Academy and its constituent partners – Busan International Film Festival, Hong Kong Film Festival Society and Tokyo International Film Festival.

The AFA strives to promote cultural exchange between film professionals from all across Asia in the hope of propelling Asian films to greater heights.

Official website: http://www.asianfilmawards.asia/

For more high-resolution photos, please visit:
Log in: media+dt-asia.com
Password: file
Folder: AFA

For media inquiries, please contact:
Sylviane Sie
Tel (852) 3696 6951
Email sylviane.sie@dt-asia.com